Has “banter” gone too far?

This week, we have all been privy to a very public example of a private meltdown. And if the Oscars has taught us anything it should perhaps be that, rightly or wrongly, everyone has their breaking point…

And so it seems the world is divided on who was in the wrong, or should that be rather who was MORE in the wrong. Because everyone involved had their part to play in this and that’s not to say that the answer is ever to slap anyone. But doesn’t it just go to show how fragile we all are right now? I think so, whatever our circumstance or perceived fortune.

I don’t know when it became acceptable to mock other people’s illnesses or try to get a rise out of people just for the sake of it, for the sake of being “funny”, as I don’t know when it became acceptable to hit people openly whether in a public forum or not and seemingly try to just ignore it having happened afterwards. I certainly know that for the average person, hitting other people normally evokes repercussions of some sort, and whatever your view on what happened, I honestly am baffled how so soon after, someone was allowed to accept an award to a standing ovation. Is this how dazed and confused that we all are? Is this now the norm?

We’ve all had to (and sometimes continue to have to) grin and bear it despite how we feel and we are inherently taught to *try* and rise above it. Which I’m actually the first to admit, may not ultimately be the most healthy way of doing things. And I am shockingly terrible at! Maybe in fact, the culmination of our collectively bizarre behaviour is in fact, precisely for that reason. But you can’t just do what you want. Or if one can, we all should be able to and then where does that lead?

I’m confused still as to which “side” I’m even on here which speaks volumes. Just because I don’t particularly like someone, it doesn’t mean they deserve that treatment during the course of doing what in effect is their job. And just because I’ve always thought of someone as reasonably personable doesn’t mean that I didn’t cringe to my core when they humiliated themselves in front of effectively, the whole world. And I didn’t even take any comfort from the fact that it just goes to show that we are all human. And I certainly don’t *think* I’m a fan of laying any blame at the door of the person who the slight was aimed at, regardless or not as to whether it “appeared” that all the pesky kids would have gotten away with it, were it not finally noticed that she was not amused. The whole thing is still utterly confusing and totally baffling to me.

And where were the organisers? Did anyone think that it may be a good idea to remove anyone from the situation? Apparently someone was asked but “refused”. Errr, excuse me…WTAF? Have we all gone totally mad?

But the ultimate point is, personally I think this has shown that we are ALL on our last nerve. We may all *think* we’ve weathered the shit storm but clearly actually none of us have. We’re all hanging on by that tiny thread and woe betide the person who crosses the line on the wrong day or god forbid becomes a party to the straw that breaks the camels back within us. And that’s truly the biggest sadness of it all. There are no winners here. We all keep saying that we should be kind and considerate to others but actually, we need to walk the walk and skip the pointless banal talk. And the problem is that no one seems to be in charge. Least of all the people who pertain to be. And so are we all screwed? There was a moment at the start of the pandemic where it looked like the only bright side to come from the horrendous situation we all found ourselves in was compassion for others and looking out for each other. And yet it seems we are all hanging so much on a cliff’s edge that we may, in fact have got more selfish than ever. Not even perhaps deliberately but purely out of survival.

All I know is that mental health conversations and issues are becoming more and more prevalent. Not necessarily understood, but prevalent nonetheless. And if there is anyone who at this moment can really and truly say they have remained unscathed and feel entirely themselves once more, then I would probably like to dispute that.

But if we continue like we are then we’re heading for total and utter meltdown. We honestly need to take a collective step back and regroup, and I say that without in any way meaning to belittle either people’s feelings or the impact that the last few years has had on anybody. Believe me, I’ve had my own share of meltdowns recently, I just thank my lucky stars they weren’t televised!

Bisous

Published by mockodile7

Living the Charente in SW France since Nov 2017 I run a business in France helping individuals and businesses both in France and the UK to establish and reach their goals and ambitions. This can be through administrative support, mentoring, problem solving or project management. I am also the Charente Columnist for French Property Guides and write Lifestyle articles. Writing is what I really love to do. And my new life in France offers a wealth of opportunity to write about a large range of topics I that I have encountered since moving here whether lifestyle. personal or business!

Leave a comment